top of page
Search
  • Lena

Money and Passion

Last week I met up with a friend I hadn’t seen almost a year. We went to a café and sat down to catch up whilst drinking coffee. We talked about all that mundane stuff like school, stress, pandemic, nothing that could interest you…but… when we got to the topic of work, he proceeded to tell me that money is the biggest motivator. This piqued my interest and irritated me at the same time. And, of course, I stated my own opinion which was that when you truly love what you do, it doesn’t really matter how much you get paid to do it. Because you will do it regardless. I’d like to think that I’m studying to become a teacher because I have a true passion for it. Needless to say, that money is necessary to get by and live your life, but I truly believe if you start doing what you love, money isn’t going to be the biggest motivator. Passion is…

Clearly, he was less than happy with my response and remained true to his strong beliefs. At this point I understood where he was coming from and, honestly, felt kind of bad for him because all his life he’s worked for money. I don’t know, maybe I might come off as naïve but this is my take on that, at least for now…


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sign-Up to Our Newsletter

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by Under The Stars. Created with Wix.com

bottom of page